The Dawn Service in Melbourne is a solemn tradition, and an important way for Victorians to commemorate those who served and died in defence of our country.

The service is held at dawn as this is the time the ANZACs first approached the beach in Gallipoli, and faced their first bout of conflict during World War I.

The ANZAC Day Dawn Service will commence at 5:30 am at the Shrine of Remembrance.

There will be multiple screens around the Shrine to enable participants to view the proceedings.

The Dawn Service finishes at about 6:30am. At the end of the service, members of the public can go into the Sanctuary of the Shrine of Remembrance to lay a poppy.

The Shrine of Remembrance opens to the public for general viewing at 6:30am.

How to Prepare

The Dawn Service happens outside and happens in all weather. It is a large crowd that gathers so you are likely to be standing for the whole service.

Getting There

Parking at the Shrine of Remembrance and its surrounds is restricted on ANZAC Day in Melbourne, so it is recommended that you catch public transport to the Dawn Service.

Public Transport

Full details about public transport for ANZAC Day can be found at the PTV website.

Metro Trains

Metro Trains run an additional early morning service on each train line to Flinders Street Station on ANZAC Day for passengers wishing to attend the Dawn Service.

From 5:30 am Metro trains will run to a Saturday timetable.

Yarra Trams

Additional trams will operate on the Swanston Street and St Kilda Road corridors between Flinders Street and Stop 20 (ANZAC Station) on ANZAC Day morning to assist those wishing to attend the Dawn Service.

Two extra services will operate on all CBD lines to further assist passengers to attend the Dawn Service.

Tram services will halt along St Kilda Road from 6:00 am on ANZAC Day until after the Commemoration March is complete and the road is clear of event infrastructure at about 2:00pm.

PTV Shuttle Buses

Public Transport Victoria offer a shuttle bus service to help get people to and from the Melbourne Dawn Service. Please note this service must be pre-booked with PTV by 12pm, 24 April 2024. Pre-bookings should be made through the PTV website or by or by calling 1800 800 007.

The shuttle buses depart from 12 designated locations around Melbourne and travel to the Shrine of Remembrance for the Dawn Service.

Shuttle buses depart the Shrine of Remembrance at the conclusion of the Dawn Service. Buses depart at 07:00 am and 7:30am back to the original locations.

Pick-up locations:

  • Ashburton Community Centre via Camberwell Junction and St Mary Magdalen Catholic Church Chadstone
  • Croydon Railway Station via Ringwood East Station
  • Dandenong RSL via Noble Park RSL, Springvale, Clayton RSL and Oakleigh
  • Westfield Doncaster via, North Balwyn Shopping Centre, Kew and Victoria Park
  • Essendon Football Ground (Windy Hill)
  • Greensborough RSL via Watsonia RSL
  • St Johns Catholic Church Mitcham via Blackburn Railway Station, Box Hill and Balwyn
  • Mordialloc Railway Station via Mentone Railway Station and Sandringham Railway Station
  • Templestowe RSL via Heidelberg Repatriation Hospital
  • Thomastown via Reservoir Railway Station and Coburg Town Hall
  • Knox City Shopping Centre Wantirna South via Scoresby Village Shopping Centre, Waverley RSL and Mount Waverley Shopping Centre
  • Williamstown Town Hall via Yarraville

Passengers are required to book their seat on one of the wheelchair-accessible buses by 4pm on Monday 22 April on the PTV website or by calling 1800 800 007. 

For more information visit

Watching the Dawn Service from Home

For those unable to attend the Dawn Service in person, the Service will be available online via the following:

  • RSL Victoria Facebook page or website
  • The Dawn Service is normally broadcast on some free-to-air television stations

Contact Details

If you have any questions about the ANZAC Day event in Melbourne, please contact us on 03 9655 5504 or

This event is supported by the City of Melbourne.